We are moving…. something which I have shared before and something which has become the perfect blogging fodder.

So we had two moving companies come this past week to give us estimates on how much it was going to cost us to move all of our belongings.  Both companies were very comparable when it came to the estimated weight of our stuff; yet both companies were very different when it came to the cost.  It was a no-brainer as to which company we would be using.  However, both companies opened my eyes to the fact that despite our prior dumpster purging, we still own to much crap and we have a LOT more stuff that we need to get rid of.  I mean, who the heck want to pay to move stuff that they not only haven’t been using, but eventually are only going to get rid of in the future.  Not me!!!  And of course, the more we get rid of – the LESS we pay….

Since these moving estimates, I have kicked my purging into high gear.  I am bound and determined to get rid of more stuff; so if I haven’t used it in the last six months or if I think for a moment I won’t use it at the new house it goes into either the “give-away” or donation piles.  Furniture, books, kitchen items, and toys are all up for grabs.  Chicken rotisserie – gone.  Bread maker – gone.  Bakeware – gone.  It’s like Christmas in my neighborhood as all of my neighbors are anxiously waiting to see what items will appear on my curb next.  My neighbor down the street got a liquor cabinet, the lady in the back got a server and a ton of books.  The local daycare (who was always so good to my kids) got some new toys.  And I still have more the get rid of with Big Brother Big Sister coming in a few weeks to pick up more stuff for donation.  And then there are garage sale days in my town – which is the week before we move and you guessed it – anything we aren’t taking is gonna be out there for free!!!

If I can’t give it away or donate at it there is also is my neighbor’s dumpster, which she gave me free use of since I did the same for her.  And believe you me, I have found much more crap to toss.  I guess when you are forced to re-look at all you own, and you’re not gonna take it with you, and you’re not able to donate or give it away, the next logical step is to throw it out.  It amazes me how much more stuff I have tossed since we parted with our own dumpster.  As I am throwing out stuff now I am asking myself how the heck it didn’t get tossed before.

So in a few more weeks when all is said and done ask me if it paid off…. I can guarantee you that on multiple levels it already has and that is in itself a great feeling…..

 

