I am a very busy mom (as if there were any other kind of mom).  I am on call 24/7 as is required in my mommy job description, and I hold down a full time job as a nurse in a local hospital.  Subsequently, almost every moment of every day is in some way earmarked for something.  Whether its work, housework, food shopping, doctor’s appointments, general errands, school functions, after-school activities, or making appointments to have work done around my house, every day pretty much has something going on – especially lately as we are preparing to move.  Very rarely is their a calendar day that is blank.  Because of the craziness of everyday life, my time is very valuable to me – and apparently only to me.  Very rarely these days do I find that others are respectful of my time and quite frankly it has really started to piss me off.  Here is why…..

  1.  If I make a doctor’s appointment the expectation of the office is that I show up at least 10 minutes prior to the appointment to check in and fill out any paperwork that is required for that visit.  Heaven forbid you are late because some offices will charge you a late fee or even bump your appointment – because after all the doctor’s time is valuable.  Okay no problem – I get it.  However, most doctors’ office routinely double, triple, and quadruple book patients for the same time slots in order to make up the revenue on the back end, due in part to current rates of reimbursement and need to meet their financial quotas.  So does this mean that after sitting in the waiting room 15 to 20 to 30 minutes past my appointment time I can charge the doctor’s office a late fee as well?  When did this become a socially accepted norm or “fair.”  Is not my time equally as valuable as the doctor?
  2. Just recently I made two separate appointments to have work done at my house.  One was to have my furnace cleaned and the other was to have my back chimney cleaned.  Both companies quoted me a four hour time range of when their technicians would be to my house.  And both times I received phone calls just prior to the end of those time frames telling me that the service technicians were running several hours behind.  Seriously?  How is this okay?  It’s not.  I traditionally make it a point to make such appointments  weeks prior so as to specifically request the first appointment slot (or as early as possible) knowing full well that I need to be available to pick my kids up from school, tackle homework time and get my kids to their after-school activities.  Calling me at the end of the time frame you game me to tell me your running late, offer up a meek apology, and ask me if I want to wait or reschedule is beyond maddening to me and it quite frankly pisses me off.  First of all, I have be waiting all morning for you to arrive when (had I known you’d be late) I could’ve been tackling a laundry list of other things that I need to get done.  Second of all, why bother giving me a time frame of when you are just going to show up whenever?  How is it that companies don’t honor their word anymore?  Don’t they know that consumers talk or do they just not care if they earn my recommendation of not?  Thirdly, I don’t have time to wait for you anymore because I now have to pick up my kids and kick into gear my busy afternoon – you know the one I warned you about when I made my MORNING appointment.  And do I want to reschedule – NOT REALLY.  Why do I want to waste more of my time on another day waiting for you to show up?  Screw that….

Business better wake up and start showing some respect for people’s time.  It’s not okay to expect that we will just deal with whatever and be okay with it.  I get that things happen and emergencies come up – and I most certainly wouldn’t be writing a pissy blog for a once in a blue moon occurrence.  However, I am talking about this becoming the  apparent norm and occurring on a consistent basis.  Maybe this is because the expectation is “Do More With Less” but if you are going to conduct your business that way, don’t expect to keep mine.

 

 

