Well apparently there are several phrases out that a mom can use which can instantly ruin her child’s day.  Since I have come across many of these I thought I would share them with you… Avoidance of these phrases is near to impossible but I am hoping that many of you can relate.

  1.  “No.”  This one simple word, regardless of why it’s being said, seems to invoke the most snottiness of retorts from my children.
  2. “Because I said so, that’s why.”  Not only does this phrase drive my kids insane, but apparently my word on it’s own merit is not good enough.  By the way my kids react I am actually beginning to consider adding references to my argument as an additional means back up and cite my responses.
  3. “It’s time to get up.”  Ahhh, I love the physical response to this one because it’s somewhere between a fish out of water with all the flopping around in the bed to a pull the covers over my head tight and maybe she won’t see me.  There’s a lot of moaning and groaning going on as well to which I just counter with “Maybe if you’d listened to me and had gone to bed last night the first time I’d asked, you’d be out of the bed by now.”
  4. “Go brush your teeth” which is quickly followed by “Let me smell your breath” and finally “Go brush your teeth again.”  The first of these statements gets me sighs of annoyance yet they begrudgingly go and do it.  The second of these statements usually results in an indignant stance and the snotty retort of “I just brushed them.”  Of course after smelling their breath and busting them for a crappy job, the third and final statement usually sends them off huffing and puffing.  Of course I sometimes throw in one last statement of “I can always brush them for you” which usually shuts them up.
  5. “Please go take a shower.”  God forbid cleanliness is embraced by my kids.  I don’t know if its a boy thing (though even my daughter is starting to boycott the tub) but it’s like pulling teeth to get either of my boys to get in the shower.  Most of the time they start bargaining between one another for who is going to go first, and then I end up yelling like a crazy mom “In the time you’ve been arguing with one another about whose going first, someone could have been done already.”
  6. “Pick your dirty clothes off the floor – I am not a maid service.”  This phrase usually results in a look of disbelief as if they think I actually like cleaning up after everyone.  The hamper is literally 5 feet from both their rooms, come on people!
  7. “No you cannot have a sleep-over tonight.”  Lately, as my boys have gotten older,  I have been hammered with the requests for sleepovers.  I hate sleepovers.  All I want on the weekend is to fall apart and relax.  I don’t want someone else’s kid (with the exception of one little boy who is my middle guy’s best friend) over my house because then I feel obligated to be proper and on point when quite frankly I don’t want to be.
  8. And finally, “Hurry up” is a phrase that has no meaning to my kids.  They look at me as if the concept of time does not exist and often continue along at their turtlish pace until I have to whip out my crazy and move them along.

 

These are just a few of the top phrases they can ruin my kids day.  I am sure there are many more that I have omitted but since I am ready to utter another one to my middle guy, that of  “its time to go to school” I will sign off for today.  Please feel free to share yours…..

