I would kill for the opportunity to “be bored.”  As a mom to three very busy kids there is no time to be bored.  There is however time to be frazzled, aggravated, stressed, harried, spent, exhausted, and drained.  So on the last day of school, and every day since summer vacation has started, I have heard at least once if not multiple times, how bored one of my kids is.  Seriously?!?!  I can’t help but think to myself how good they have it.  Electronic devices aside (since I try to limit usage in the nice weather), there are a million things that they can do to keep themselves occupied: they can hop on their bikes and go for a bike-ride, go for a walk, read a book, go to the park, go to the pool, have a campout in the back yard, play baseball…..etc. (you get my point).  So how is it that with so many options they even have time to be bored?  Somebody please explain!!!!

Boredom complaints are met with icy stares and an eye roll from me.  I have no tolerance for them and have told them that.  I have also told them that I can and most certainly will find something for them to do which, I guarantee you, will neither be fun nor leave them bored (lord knows I can certainly use help with my list of  things to do).   I just wish my kids knew and truly appreciated that this is their time, their time to be anything, do anything, and experience anything they want to experience.  Once they are grown, more responsibilities will have set in and the time to be bored will have passed.  This is their time to be a kid….

