As a mom of three very active children I like to divide up my days in various time increments in an effort to maintain some level of what sanity I have left.  That is, when I wake up at that ungodly early hour of the morning – you know the one that begins before the sun is completely up and involves rousing less than happy kids up and out of bed in an effort to get them ready and off to school – I tell myself the following…

  1.  In 1 hour the eldest two will be off at school.
  2. In 4 1/2 – 5 hours the baby will go down for a nap leaving approximately 1 1/2 hours of “me” time until I have to wake her from that glorious nap to go pick up the middle one at school.
  3. Once they are all home, that leaves five hours until their bedtime and then about another couple hours until mine.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids dearly, however lets face it;  when you are for the most part are a stay-at-home mom, where the odds are stacked against you – 3 kiddos to your 1 self, you will implement whatever Jedi mind tricks necessary ultimately survive each day of parental bliss (insert sarcastic tone) that overflows with ridiculous homework, assignments, meltdowns, after school activities, cabin-fever antics and the fulfillment of their basic needs.  By my dividing out my day as I do, I feel a little less overwhelmed by all of the parental responsibilities required of me and more apt to feel as if I can conquer what each leg of the day has in store for me.   And if this fails to work there is always a bottle of wine to crack open….

