Aside from the obvious,  that of  happy, well-behaved, well-mannered, well-adjusted, socially-accepted, and successful (as defined by your own personal beliefs on what constitutes success) children I often find myself wishing for the following:

  1.  A chance to finish a cup of coffee uninterrupted and without having to reheat it up in the microwave at least three times…
  2. The opportunity to go to the bathroom in peace and quiet…
  3. The time to take a very long hot and uninterrupted shower…
  4. The luxury of actually sitting down to a hot meal with the rest of my family…
  5. A self-cleaning house…
  6. A maid (someone than me)…
  7. More hours in the day to be the mom my kids need me to be rather than the mom reality dictates me to be…
  8. Clothes that are less mommyish and more reflective of the woman I am underneath…
  9. A day at the spa to re-energize and regroup…
  10. A shopping spree to get those few things that we as moms don’t often buy for ourselves because we are putting our kids’ needs first…
  11. More patience…
  12. A vacation with my husband to remind myself of how it all began…
