Yesterday I was one child short of my chaotic trio.  My mother-in-law had generously offered to keep my toddler with her for an overnight – an offer that I just couldn’t pass up – so that left just me and the boys (my husband was at work) for some long overdue mommy/sons bonding time.    Having the opportunity to sit down and play board games with their eager faces meant the world to them, as they quite often are vying for my attention amidst the antics of their sister.  It also did wonders for me as a mom riddled with the guilt of how little of my time they truly get because of all that I juggle.

I know I have written about this before, but the gift of our time is probably one of the greatest gifts we can give to our children.  Being able to be present in their lives, and to do so on all levels, shows them just how much they matter.  Interacting with them without the distractions of others, technology, or household demands fosters these tender relationships that, if given the right amount of positive attention, will only flourish over time.  I need to make more of an effort to be available to my children (especially my older ones), to make this time for them, and in doing so, show them just how much they matter to me.  My actions will speak louder than any words I utter to them.  And while making time when you’re a walking circus act is certainly is not without its challenges, the reward is and will always be priceless.

