Well its that time of year….the time of the year that every mom dreads – yes you guessed it, it’s school project time.  This year’s project, my son needs to collect three leaves in five select categories.   Each category has between four and eight leaf choices.  Once he has his fifteen leaves they need to be pressed, laminated (add a laminator to the next Walmart trip), categorized, written about, placed in a binder per a specified order with a table of contents, and finished off with a creative title page.  Easy right – WRONG!!!

So in an effort to assist his efforts, I have done what any mom would do.  I have spent every moment of the last week walking around town staring at trees and snagging their leaves.  I have grabbed leaves off of trees while giving a quick side to side glance so as to ensure no one is watching me.  I have tiptoed into people’s yards and scooped leaves up off of their lawns.  I have even pretended to tie my shoes while giving a quick tug off of some low-lying greenery.  Why you ask?  Well I am a mom and that’s what we do.  We endure their school projects, we encourage their efforts, and we do our best to foster independence of project completions while gently guiding and helping them from the sidelines.  Sometimes however, the enormity of the project, like this such one, requires us to assist more readily.  Hence my leaf collecting endeavors.

And that’s just the tip of the proverbial iceberg.  With his collection almost complete, my son and I have been scouring the internet, googling leaf identification pictures in an attempt to determine what we really have.  We have compared, contrasted, and studied leaves til we’ve gone cross-eyed – which begs the questions how a ten-year old would have done this without any assistance?  And I’m not the only one who feels this way.  One of the other moms who I am friendly with confessed to driving around town staring at trees in the hopes of locating leaves that her son needs.  Ahhh the things we do for our children to conquer the dreaded school project…..

