liebster

What a great feeling to, in the middle of a chaotic food shopping trip today, look at my phone and see that I was nominated for the Liebster Award by adriennea3.  Earlier in the day I had seen that she had been nominated for the award and I was so excited for her as we have struck up a kinship from not only our blogging, but also our commentary.  The journey into the blogging world has fostered connections with amazing people who have empowering stories to tell, life-altering experiences to share, dreams to fulfill, and wisdom to impart.  I am grateful to adriennea3, first and foremost for showing me what can be possible and then challenging me to get there.  I am also grateful for her nomination as it is both a humbling and an empowering experience to be recognized by a fellow blogger who values what you are sharing.  I look forward to continuing the blogging journey with adriennea3 and so many other inspirational people who have shared their voice online.

Thank you again @ adriennea3.wordpress.com

About the Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The meaning Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Liebster was created to discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere.

Rules:

Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you. Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
Nominate 5-10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
Ensure all these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own or your nominees or you may use the same questions.
Lastly, COPY these rules in the post
Here are my answers to adriennea3’s questions…..

My 11 questions for my nominees, if you will accept this award. Welcome to the blogosphere 😊

Where do you see yourself in a year?

In a year I see myself as having experienced a lot of personal growth, both as a wife and a mom.  I see myself stepping out of certain comfort zones that don’t necessarily support the direction in which I wish to take my life.  That is, I see myself seizing the moments that are right there in front of me, enjoying life for what it is rather for what it could be, and investing more in my family by fostering opportunities that create memories.  I see myself traveling and expanding my horizons.  I see myself for the first time, living life as a participant rather than a wary bystander.

Are you happy in your career?

In all honesty – I am not sure anymore.  I became a nurse because I wanted to be able to make a difference in people’s lives.  I wanted to advocate on behalf of those who needed a strong voice to speak for them.  I wanted to empower people to take charge of their health and manage their illness.  I wanted to educate those who lacked the knowledge about their condition or plan of care.  I wanted to support people in times of heartache and comfort those in need.  Today’s healthcare system seems to have taken the very essence out of the noblest of professions – that of the human element.  Now-a-days it’s all about doing more with less, doing it faster, and the almighty dollar driving reimbursements and incentives.  There just doesn’t seem to be the time to be with your patients in the ways that they need you the most, and in the ways that matter the most.  This has left me feel disheartened, frustrated, and discouraged at this current time.
What is your favorite book/author?

I don’t really have a favorite book per say, however I love a good murder mystery.
Who is you favorite musical artist?

I really enjoy Blake Shelton’s music.
What is at the top of your bucket list?

On the top of my bucket list and my goal for the upcoming year – to TRAVEL more.  I want to take at least one main family vacation a year and then one (or two) mini trips.
Where is your favorite spot on earth?

My favorite spot on earth is in my husband’s arms.  It is the one place I always feel loved, safe, and a sense of true belonging.
What is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure junk food.  In particular I am often torn between chocolate and chips and dip.
Do you follow any sporting teams?

I follow football and am a NY Jets fan by default.  When I met my husband, who was an avid Jets fan his entire life, I had to forgo any other team loyalties as the deal was that we would be a one team household.
What inspires you to blog?

What inspires me to blog is my passion to express myself through my writing while sharing with others my life experiences as a mom; in the hopes that my words may inspire and even empower others in their life journey.

What is the craziest thing you ever done?

The craziest (and BEST) thing I have ever done is meet my husband, fall in love, and get married 8 months later.
Do you like to travel?

I am sure I would love to travel, if I ever actually started to do so (lol) – something I am looking to change in the upcoming year.

Here are the bloggers I nominate:

http://adriennea3.wordpress.com – You have shown me the light and the path; now its up to me to start the journey.  Enjoy this second nomination.  While your blog hit home with me and has inspired me to see the world, its been our exchanges which have empowered me to “loosen up a little.”

http://nicolaauckland.wordpress.com – I love that we view writing as our outlet and I could identify with you when finding the time for yourself becomes a challenge!

http://unperfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com – From the beginning there were commonalities in our blogs that highlighted a like-mindedness and comforting reassurance that we are striving towards the same family goals!!!

http://theycallmesashafierce.wordpress.com – I think you have wisdom to share and I like how you do it!!!  I look forward to reading more from you!

http://momneedstovent.wordpress.com – I am inspired by your journey as a mother and look forward to reading more!!!

My 11 questions for my nominees, if you will accept this award.  Welcome to the blogosphere 🙂

  1. What’s the best piece of advice someone shared with you before you became a mom?
  2.  What do you like to do for fun?
  3. If you won the lottery what would you do with the money?
  4. What type of legacy do you hope to leave for your children?
  5. What’s your least favorite household chore?
  6. Have you ever hidden in the bathroom just to find an extra moment of peace and quiet when your household is in chaos?
  7. What’s your biggest challenge as a mom?
  8. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
  9. If you could change any physical feature about yourself what would it be?
  10. Do you have any regrets?
  11. What inspires your most?

Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of this blogging community/friendship.

