Today as I watched my toddler explore the world around her; I couldn’t help but think how lucky I was to be sharing that time with her.  To watch her face light up as she interacted with her surroundings brought such joy to my heart because I recognized how priceless that time with her was.  Sure there would there be other opportunities to watch her, but if we live our lives for the “next opportunity” often we will miss out on the one that is right in front of us.

Time is a precious gift that is not without an end.  When our children are babies we often think how much time we will have with them.  Yet in the blink of an eye they grow up and then we are left wondering where all that time went.

My oldest son turns 10 years old on Monday. When I look back over those past 10 years I feel as if I have let time slip through my fingers as it pertains to being present and available to him.  I have too many “I should haves” and “I could haves” when it comes to missed opportunities with him.   Since beginning my journey of redefining the kind of mom I want to be for and to my children, I have vowed to make a change and be present in as many moments as I can be for all of them.  I have vowed to stop looking to opportunities of tomorrow and starting living for those opportunities of today.  I have vowed to enjoy every interaction with my children for what it truly represents –  the gift of time.

